SideBySend
Snapshot 3, recorded 14 September 2026. All prices in USD.

Billing

What happens if you go over your email contact or send limit?

What ten email platforms do when a list or a busy month goes past the plan: whether they count contacts, sends or both, the send cap on each plan, what going over costs and how fast it lands on the bill. Every rule is quoted from the vendor's own pricing page or help center, read on 25 September 2026.

No affiliate links and no paid placements. Disclosure.

The short answer

Published per email fees
$2 to $7.50
per 1,000 extra sends, Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign and SendGrid
Upgrade you automatically
6
Brevo, Omnisend, Klaviyo, MailerLite, Kit, Flodesk
No send limit on paid plans
2
Kit and Flodesk bill on subscribers only

Contacts, sends or both, and what going over costs

One row per platform. Every cell comes from the vendor's own page; open the platform's section below for the exact wording and the link.

What each platform limits, what happens past the limit, the fee and how fast it bills
PlatformLimit onPast the limitOverage feeHow fast it bills
MailchimpContacts and sendsVerKeeps sending; add on blocks go on the billVerAdd on contact blocks; price not statedNotOn the monthly bill, based on the peak contact total during the billing period, so deleting contacts later in the month does not lower that bill. Raising the tier removes the additional charges; a temporary spike needs a full cycle at the lower count.Ver
Constant ContactContacts and sendsVerKeeps sending; higher tier and a per send feeVer$0.002 per send, $2 per 1,000VerThe overage comes out of a prepaid account balance if there is one, otherwise it is a separate invoice charged to the card on file. How soon after the cycle ends is not stated.Ver
ActiveCampaignContacts and sendsVerSends: per send fee. Contacts: campaigns stop unless auto upgrade is onVer$0.005 per send, $5 per 1,000VerCharged as an overage fee for that month. Raising the send limit instead is prorated: monthly plans pay a prorated amount for the month, annual plans for the year.Ver
SendGrid Marketing CampaignsContacts and sendsVerKeeps sending; per email and per contact feeVer$0.0023 to $0.0075 per extra email or contactVerAdded to the invoice for the following billing period.Ver
BrevoSendsVerFee not stated; buy more emails or credits. Low tiers auto upgrade on contactsVerNot stated. No per email fee; prepaid pack prices are not in the help center.NotAdding emails is charged immediately, prorated from the purchase date to the next billing date, then monthly. Prepaid credits are a one time charge, taken immediately and non refundable. Removing emails applies from the next billing date.Ver
OmnisendContacts and sendsVerSends: campaigns stop on Standard. Contacts: tier moves next cycleVerNo overage fee; sending stopsVerA tier change applies at the next billing cycle. A mid cycle upgrade is prorated on the days left and restarts the billing cycle.Ver
KlaviyoContacts and sendsVerProfiles: upgrade next cycle. Sends: flex, upgrade or stopVerFlexible overage at your plan's unit rate; dollar rate not statedVerProfile moves take effect at the next billing cycle. When a flexible overage charge is billed is not stated.Ver
MailerLiteContacts and sendsVerPaid: automatic upgrade. Free: sending pausesVerAuto upgrade; overage rate not statedNotMonthly plans: a prorated amount for the rest of the cycle is worked out at the time of the increase and the new monthly price is charged from the next cycle. Yearly plans: the prorated amount for the rest of the year is charged to the card immediately.Ver
KitContacts onlyVerAutomatic upgrade to the next tierVerNone; the next tier's priceVerMonthly plans: the new tier's price plus a prorated charge for the rest of the current period, both on the next billing date. Annual plans: the prorated difference is charged immediately.Ver
FlodeskContacts onlyVerAutomatic upgrade; emails keep sendingVerNone; the next tier's priceVerMonthly plans: the new tier starts at the next billing date, with no retroactive charge for growth in the current cycle. Annual plans: a prorated adjustment for the rest of the term, applied monthly.Ver

Monthly send cap by plan

Most caps are a multiple of the contact limit, so they grow with the tier. Where a vendor prints a fixed number, it is shown as printed.

Monthly send cap by plan for each platform
PlatformPlanMonthly send capSource
MailchimpFree500 sends a month, 250 a day, 250 contactsVermailchimp.com, 25 September 2026
Essentials10 times the contact limit, up to 50,000 contactsVermailchimp.com, 25 September 2026
Standard12 times the contact limit, up to 100,000 contactsVermailchimp.com, 25 September 2026
Premium15 times the contact limit, up to 200,000 contactsVermailchimp.com, 25 September 2026
Constant ContactLite10 times the top of the contact tierVerconstantcontact.com, 25 September 2026
Standard12 times the top of the contact tierVerconstantcontact.com, 25 September 2026
Premium24 times the top of the contact tierVerconstantcontact.com, 25 September 2026
ActiveCampaignStarter10 times the contact limit (plans bought on or after 3 June 2024)Verhelp.activecampaign.com, 25 September 2026
Plus10 times the contact limitVerhelp.activecampaign.com, 25 September 2026
Professional12 times the contact limitVerhelp.activecampaign.com, 25 September 2026
Enterprise15 times the contact limitVerhelp.activecampaign.com, 25 September 2026
Trial100 sendsVerhelp.activecampaign.com, 25 September 2026
SendGrid Marketing CampaignsBasic 5K15,000 emails, 5,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Basic 10K30,000 emails, 10,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Basic 20K60,000 emails, 20,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Basic 50K150,000 emails, 50,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Basic 100K300,000 emails, 100,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Advanced 10K50,000 emails, 10,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Advanced 20K100,000 emails, 20,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Advanced 50K250,000 emails, 50,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Advanced 100K500,000 emails, 100,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
Advanced 200K1,000,000 emails, 200,000 contactsVertwilio.com, 25 September 2026
BrevoFree300 emails a dayVerhelp.brevo.com, 25 September 2026
StarterUp to 100,000 emails a month, bought in stops from 5,000Verhelp.brevo.com, 25 September 2026
StandardUp to 500,000 emails a monthVerhelp.brevo.com, 25 September 2026
ProfessionalUp to 10 million emails a monthVerhelp.brevo.com, 25 September 2026
EnterpriseCustomVerhelp.brevo.com, 25 September 2026
OmnisendFree500 emails a month to at most 250 contactsVersupport.omnisend.com, 25 September 2026
Standard12 times billable contacts each billing cycleVersupport.omnisend.com, 25 September 2026
ProUnlimited, fair use policy appliesVersupport.omnisend.com, 25 September 2026
KlaviyoFree500 emails a month, 250 profilesVerklaviyo.com, 25 September 2026
Email10 times the profile stop, from 5,000 at 500 profiles to 1.5 million at 150,000Verklaviyo.com, 25 September 2026
MailerLiteFree2,500 emails a month, 250 subscribersVermailerlite.com, 25 September 2026
Comfort10 times the ceiling of the subscriber tierVermailerlite.com, 25 September 2026
PowerUnlimited, fair use policy appliesVermailerlite.com, 25 September 2026
EnterpriseCustom, through salesVermailerlite.com, 25 September 2026
KitNewsletter (free)Unlimited email broadcasts, up to 10,000 subscribersVerkit.com, 25 September 2026
CreatorUnlimited email broadcastsVerkit.com, 25 September 2026
Creator ProUnlimited email broadcastsVerkit.com, 25 September 2026
FlodeskFreeNo email sendingVerflodesk.com, 25 September 2026
Free trial500 recipients a dayVerhelp.flodesk.com, 25 September 2026
Lite, Pro, EverythingUnlimited email sendsVerflodesk.com, 25 September 2026

Worked example: 10,000 contacts grow to 11,000 mid month, as of 25 September 2026

A list at 10,000 passes 11,000 with 15 days left in a 30 day monthly cycle and stays there. It gets four campaigns a month to everyone. Extra this month is what growth adds to the current bill; extra each month is the step to the next tier from then on.

Extra cost when a list grows from 10,000 to 11,000 mid month
Platform and planBeforeAfterExtra this monthExtra each month
Mailchimp Standard$135Ver$230 if you raise the tierVerAdd on block, price not statedNot+$95Der
Mailchimp Essentials$110Ver$180 if you raise the tierVerAdd on block, price not statedNot+$70Der
Kit Creator$139Ver$169, automaticVer$15 proratedDer+$30Der
Brevo Starter$46 (40,000 emails)Der$56 (50,000 emails)DerAbout $5Der+$10Der
Brevo Standard$89 (40,000 emails)Der$97 (50,000 emails)DerAbout $4Der+$8Der
Klaviyo Email$150Ver$200 from the next cycleVerNo extra charge statedVer+$50Der
Flodesk Lite$72Der$102 from the next billing dateVerNo retroactive chargeVer+$30Der
  • Mailchimp Standard: Mailchimp keeps sending and bills add on contact blocks at the peak count for the month, so the block is charged even if the list shrinks again before the bill. The block price is shown only inside the account. Raise the contact limit to the 10,001 to 15,000 band and the monthly price is $230; Mailchimp does not raise it for you. Source.
  • Mailchimp Essentials: Same rules as Standard, with a send limit of 10 times the contact limit instead of 12. Source.
  • Kit Creator: Kit moves the account to the 15,000 subscriber tier the day the list passes 10,000. On a monthly plan the next bill is $169 plus the prorated difference for the 15 days left, $184 in all. On an annual plan the prorated difference is charged at once. Source.
  • Brevo Starter: Brevo does not count contacts on this stop, which allows up to 500,000 stored. It counts emails: 4 campaigns a month to the whole list is 40,000 emails before and 44,000 after, and this month needs 42,000. Adding emails is charged at once, prorated to the next billing date; Brevo prints no formula, so half the $10 step is an approximation. A prepaid pack of 5,000 credits is the other route; its price is not in the help center. Source.
  • Brevo Standard: Same send arithmetic on Standard. The stop prices are printed by the Brevo calculator; putting a list on a stop assumes the campaign count, which is why the cells are derived. Source.
  • Klaviyo Email: Klaviyo prints a stop at every 500 profiles here, so 11,000 profiles is its own stop. Passing the limit does not stop sending; the plan moves at the next billing cycle unless the count is back under 10,000 at least 24 hours before. The 100,000 send allowance covers four campaigns easily. Source.
  • Flodesk Lite: On a monthly plan Flodesk upgrades at the next billing date and does not charge for growth inside the current cycle. The next Lite stop above 10,000 is 15,000. Source.

The cheapest reaction to 1,000 new contacts depends on the meter. On a send priced plan like Brevo the step is $10 a month on Starter because the emails went up by 4,000. On contact priced plans the step is the gap to the next printed stop: $50 on Klaviyo, which prints a stop every 500 profiles, and $30 on Kit and $95 on Mailchimp Standard, which jump straight to a 15,000 contact stop.

Worked example: one busy month of 70,000 emails to 5,000 contacts, as of 25 September 2026

A 5,000 contact list sends fourteen campaigns to everyone in a holiday month, 70,000 emails, then goes back to normal. The allowance is the plan's multiple of a 5,000 contact limit.

Overage cost of a 70,000 email month on a 5,000 contact list
Platform and planMonthly allowanceSends overExtra cost
ActiveCampaign Starter or Plus50,000Der20,000Der$100Der
ActiveCampaign Professional60,000Der10,000Der$50Der
Constant Contact Lite50,000Der20,000Der$40Der
Constant Contact Standard60,000Der10,000Der$20Der
Constant Contact Premium120,000Der0DerNo extra chargeDer
SendGrid Marketing Campaigns Basic 5K15,000Ver55,000Der$220Der
Mailchimp Standard60,000Der10,000DerAdd on blocks, price not statedNot
Omnisend Standard60,000Der10,000DerNo fee; the extra emails do not sendVer
Brevo Starter50,000Der20,000DerUp to $18Der
Klaviyo Email50,000Ver20,000DerNot stated as a dollar figureNot
MailerLite Comfort50,000Der20,000DerNext tier price, not read for this pageNot
Kit and Flodesk Any paid planUnlimitedVerNoneVerNo extra chargeVer
  • ActiveCampaign Starter or Plus: $5 per 1,000 extra sends. Sending would only switch off at 3 times the limit in overage. Source.
  • ActiveCampaign Professional: Same rate with a 12 times allowance. Source.
  • Constant Contact Lite: $2 per 1,000 extra sends on the 2,501 to 5,000 tier. Counts only campaigns; automated emails are excluded. Source.
  • Constant Contact Standard: Same rate with a 12 times allowance. Source.
  • Constant Contact Premium: A 24 times allowance covers the month. Source.
  • SendGrid Marketing Campaigns Basic 5K: $4 per 1,000 extra emails, added to the next period's invoice. The plan's own limit is 3 times its contact limit, which is why the overage is large. Source.
  • Mailchimp Standard: Mailchimp's own example block on Standard is 1,000 contacts carrying 12,000 sends, so one block would cover it if the block at this tier is the same size. Block size and price are shown only inside the account. Source.
  • Omnisend Standard: Past the credits, campaigns stop and automations cancel until renewal, unless you confirm an upgrade to Pro, prorated on the days left. Source.
  • Brevo Starter: On the 50,000 email stop at $56, adding emails up to the 80,000 stop at $74 is charged at once, prorated to the next billing date, so the charge is at most the $18 step. Remove them afterwards and the lower price returns from the next billing date. Source.
  • Klaviyo Email: Flexible overage adds the next tier's sends at the unit rate of your starting plan. Klaviyo states the rule, not a price, and one flex step may not cover 20,000 sends. Source.
  • MailerLite Comfort: Comfort upgrades to a tier whose 10 times ceiling covers the sends. The tier stops between 5,000 and 10,000 subscribers were not read, so no dollar figure is given. Source.
  • Kit and Flodesk Any paid plan: Neither bills on emails sent. Source.

Worked example: where a send priced plan stops being cheaper, at 11,000 contacts

The same 11,000 contacts at different campaign counts. Contact priced plans cost the same however often you send, up to their send limit. Brevo's price follows the emails.

Monthly price at 11,000 contacts by campaigns per month
Campaigns a month2 (22,000 emails)4 (44,000 emails)8 (88,000 emails)9 (99,000 emails)10 (110,000 emails)
Brevo, cheapest stopPriced on emails. Starter stops at 100,000 a month, then Standard's 150,000 stop.$39 StarterDer$56 StarterDer$82 StarterDer$82 StarterDer$179 StandardDer
Flodesk Lite, 15,000 stopUnlimited sends.$102Ver$102Ver$102Ver$102Ver$102Ver
Kit Creator, 15,000 stopUnlimited sends.$169Ver$169Ver$169Ver$169Ver$169Ver
Mailchimp Essentials, 10,001 to 15,000Send limit 150,000, 10 times the 15,000 contact limit.$180Ver$180Ver$180Ver$180Ver$180Ver
Klaviyo Email, 11,000 stopSend allowance 110,000.$200Ver$200Ver$200Ver$200Ver$200Ver

Breakeven: at 11,000 contacts, Brevo Starter stays below every contact priced plan here up to nine campaigns a month, because 99,000 emails still fit its 100,000 email stop at $82. Campaign number ten pushes it to Standard's 150,000 stop at $179, above Kit at $169 and Flodesk Lite at $102. The Brevo cells are derived because the campaign count places the list on a stop; the stop prices themselves are printed by the Brevo calculator.

How to avoid overage

Vendor by vendor, with the exact rules

Each line is a paraphrase of the vendor's own page with the link and the date read. Not stated means the page that should say it does not.

Prices are compiled from public vendor pages and can lag behind a change. Cells marked Der are calculated from published rules and cells marked Est are rough figures. Neither is an invoice or a quote, so confirm with the vendor before you spend.

Mailchimp

Contacts and sends. Keeps sending; add on blocks go on the bill.

  • What counts: The contact limit you pick sets the pricing tier, and the tier sets the monthly send limit. Subscribed, unsubscribed and non subscribed contacts all count; archived, cleaned and deleted contacts do not. Test and transactional emails count as sends. Read off About Mailchimp pricing plans on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Paid plans: service is not interrupted. Mailchimp charges for one or more add on contact blocks on the monthly bill. Free plan: over 250 contacts, live and test sending is put on hold until you upgrade or cut the list. Read off About Mailchimp pricing plans on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: The same add on contact blocks. Each block carries the plan's send multiple; Mailchimp's own example is a 1,000 contact block on Standard that includes 12,000 sends. Block size and price are shown only inside a logged in account. Read off About additional charges on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: On the monthly bill, based on the peak contact total during the billing period, so deleting contacts later in the month does not lower that bill. Raising the tier removes the additional charges; a temporary spike needs a full cycle at the lower count. Read off About additional charges on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Mailchimp does not move the tier for you. The help page tells you to raise the contact limit if the increase is permanent, or to archive inactive contacts and send to smaller segments. Read off About additional charges on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Mailchimp pricing.

Constant Contact

Contacts and sends. Keeps sending; higher tier and a per send fee.

  • What counts: Price follows the plan and the highest contact tier reached in the month, even if the count falls again. The send allowance is a multiple of the top of that tier. Read off Knowledge base 5775 on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: No block. The month bills at the higher contact tier: start at 400, reach 525, fall to 410, and the bill is the 501 to 1,000 tier. Read off Knowledge base 5775 on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: Sending does not stop. Every send over the allowance costs 0.002 dollars. Bounces count as sends. Automated emails such as welcome and abandoned cart emails are excluded; scheduled campaigns and resends to non openers count. Read off Knowledge base 46046 on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: The overage comes out of a prepaid account balance if there is one, otherwise it is a separate invoice charged to the card on file. How soon after the cycle ends is not stated. Read off Knowledge base 46046 on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Constant Contact's own example: a 2,500 contact tier at 10 times allows 25,000 sends; sending 40,000 is 15,000 over, a 30 dollar fee. Read off Knowledge base 46046 on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Constant Contact pricing.

ActiveCampaign

Contacts and sends. Sends: per send fee. Contacts: campaigns stop unless auto upgrade is on.

  • What counts: A contact limit plus a monthly send limit that is a multiple of it. Accounts created on or after 3 November 2025 count every contact, whatever its list status; older accounts count active contacts only. Read off What happens when I reach my contact limit on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Without auto upgrade, email campaigns will not send and automation email steps are skipped until you upgrade. Auto upgrade raises the contact limit when needed, but only if you switch it on. Starter tops out at 25,000 contacts. Read off What happens when I reach my contact limit on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: Sending continues and each send over the limit costs 0.005 dollars. If overage sends reach three times the limit, sending is turned off until next month. The limit covers direct and automated campaigns, not one to one or transactional email. Alerts show at 75, 90 and 100 percent. Read off About email send limits and overage fees on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Charged as an overage fee for that month. Raising the send limit instead is prorated: monthly plans pay a prorated amount for the month, annual plans for the year. Read off About email send limits and overage fees on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Contact auto upgrade is off unless you turn it on in Billing and Upgrade. Read off Does ActiveCampaign automatically increase my contact limit on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: ActiveCampaign pricing.

SendGrid Marketing Campaigns

Contacts and sends. Keeps sending; per email and per contact fee.

  • What counts: Contacts stored and emails sent. Each paid plan in Twilio's overage table carries a contact limit and an email limit. Read off Marketing Campaigns pricing on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: A per contact overage at the plan's rate, 0.0023 to 0.0075 dollars. The Free Trial cannot go over its limits, and accounts created through Heroku or Google Cloud get no overages. Read off Marketing Campaigns pricing on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: A per email overage at the same rate as extra contacts, from 0.0023 dollars on Basic 100K to 0.0075 on Advanced 10K. Read off Marketing Campaigns pricing on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Added to the invoice for the following billing period. Read off Marketing Campaigns pricing on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: The same pricing page describes the Free Trial as 100 contacts and 100 emails a day for 60 days in one answer, and mentions a free Marketing Campaigns plan with 2,000 contacts and 6,000 emails in another. The overage table is unaffected; the free plan claim is not used on this page. Read off Marketing Campaigns pricing on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: SendGrid Marketing Campaigns pricing.

Brevo

Sends. Fee not stated; buy more emails or credits. Low tiers auto upgrade on contacts.

  • What counts: You buy a monthly email volume. The volume you pick sets the price and also caps stored contacts: 500, 1,500 or 500,000 on Starter and Standard. Unused plan emails expire at the end of the month. Read off What are the different quotas applied in Brevo on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: On the first three Starter and Standard tiers, reaching the contact limit upgrades the plan to the next tier automatically, after warning notices, and the price rises with it. Read off Upgrade to a higher plan on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: A per email overage fee is not stated. To send more you add emails to the plan, or buy prepaid email credits in packs of 5,000 to 1 million, which are used only after the plan's emails run out and never expire. What happens to a send once both run out is not stated. Read off Upgrade to a higher plan on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Adding emails is charged immediately, prorated from the purchase date to the next billing date, then monthly. Prepaid credits are a one time charge, taken immediately and non refundable. Removing emails applies from the next billing date. Read off Add or remove emails from your plan on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Brevo's help center gives two different caps for the third tier: the upgrade article says 2,500 contacts, the quotas article lists only 500, 1,500 and 500,000. Neither affects the examples on this page, which sit on the 500,000 contact tiers. Read off Upgrade to a higher plan on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Brevo pricing.

Omnisend

Contacts and sends. Sends: campaigns stop on Standard. Contacts: tier moves next cycle.

  • What counts: Billable contacts, which are subscribers plus non subscribers, set the tier. Standard gives email credits of 12 times billable contacts each cycle. Unsubscribed contacts are not billed. Read off Omnisend pricing plans 2026 on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: The tier moves automatically each billing cycle with the billable count, in both directions, with an email before any upgrade. Importing past the tier prompts an upgrade. Read off Omnisend pricing plans 2026 on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: Standard: campaigns cannot be sent and contacts entering automations are canceled from them until the cycle renews or you upgrade. Free: an upgrade prompt at 500 emails. Omnisend asks you to confirm any upgrade before it happens. Read off Omnisend pricing plans 2026 on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: A tier change applies at the next billing cycle. A mid cycle upgrade is prorated on the days left and restarts the billing cycle. Read off Omnisend pricing plans 2026 on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Unsubscribing inactive contacts lowers the tier at the next billing cycle, not immediately. Read off Omnisend pricing plans 2026 on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Omnisend pricing.

Klaviyo

Contacts and sends. Profiles: upgrade next cycle. Sends: flex, upgrade or stop.

  • What counts: Active profiles, meaning every profile the account can email, plus emails sent in the cycle. The Email plan's send allowance is 10 times the profile count at each printed stop. Read off Klaviyo billing help on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Paid plans keep sending. The account moves to a plan that covers the profile count at the next billing cycle, unless the count is back under the limit at least 24 hours before. Free plan: no sending until the count is back under the limit. Read off Klaviyo billing help on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: Three choices: flexible overage, a one time add on of the next tier's sends priced at the unit rate of the plan you started the month on; an upgrade, manual or automatic; or no more sending until the next cycle. Read off Klaviyo billing help on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Profile moves take effect at the next billing cycle. When a flexible overage charge is billed is not stated. Read off Klaviyo billing help on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: A downgrade has to be made more than 24 hours before the cycle turns over, or it does not take effect. Read off Klaviyo billing help on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Klaviyo pricing.

MailerLite

Contacts and sends. Paid: automatic upgrade. Free: sending pauses.

  • What counts: Active subscribers, counted cumulatively over the billing cycle, so an address that was active at any point counts even if deleted later, plus monthly emails sent. Read off Everything about your subscription plan and billing on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Paid plans upgrade to the next tier automatically, with a notice in the account. Free: campaigns, automations and new subscriber imports pause until you upgrade or cut the list below 250. Read off Everything about your subscription plan and billing on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: Paid plans upgrade automatically when monthly sends pass the plan limit. Free: campaigns and automation emails pause until you upgrade or the limit resets the next month. Read off Free plan update FAQ on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Monthly plans: a prorated amount for the rest of the cycle is worked out at the time of the increase and the new monthly price is charged from the next cycle. Yearly plans: the prorated amount for the rest of the year is charged to the card immediately. Read off Everything about your subscription plan and billing on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: The terms say overage fees may apply if auto upgrade is switched off or a payment fails, and that the rates will be published on the pricing page. On the pricing page read on 25 September 2026, the rate is not stated. Not Read off Terms of service, section 19 on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: The pricing page FAQ puts it differently for Comfort sends: reach the limit and you can upgrade to Power or wait for the allowance to refresh. The help article and the terms both describe an automatic upgrade. Read off MailerLite pricing FAQ on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: MailerLite pricing.

Kit

Contacts only. Automatic upgrade to the next tier.

  • What counts: Confirmed active subscribers only, not emails sent or features used. Read off Billing at Kit on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Kit moves the account up to the next subscriber tier automatically so nothing stops working. Moving back down is your call, from billing settings. Read off Billing at Kit on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: No send limit to go over on any plan. Read off Billing at Kit on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Monthly plans: the new tier's price plus a prorated charge for the rest of the current period, both on the next billing date. Annual plans: the prorated difference is charged immediately. Read off Account upgrade and downgrade FAQs on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: Importing a large list at once can get the account temporarily suspended; Kit asks to be told in advance. Read off Account upgrade and downgrade FAQs on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Kit pricing.

Flodesk

Contacts only. Automatic upgrade; emails keep sending.

  • What counts: Active subscribers, counting Active and Soft Bounced contacts only. There are no per email charges on paid plans. Read off Subscriber based pricing and auto upgrade on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the contact limit: Flodesk upgrades the plan automatically and emails keep sending. Notices go out at 90, 95 and 100 percent. Lite past 25,000 subscribers moves to Pro. Above 255,000 subscribers, automatic upgrades pause and sales gets in touch. Read off Subscriber based pricing and auto upgrade on 25 September 2026.
  • Past the send limit: No send limit to go over on paid plans. Read off Flodesk pricing FAQ on 25 September 2026.
  • How fast it bills: Monthly plans: the new tier starts at the next billing date, with no retroactive charge for growth in the current cycle. Annual plans: a prorated adjustment for the rest of the term, applied monthly. Read off Subscriber based pricing and auto upgrade on 25 September 2026.
  • Also stated: After an automatic upgrade, a refund is possible if you ask within 30 days and the cleaned list fits the old tier. Read off Subscriber based pricing and auto upgrade on 25 September 2026.

Prices at every list size: Flodesk pricing.

How the figures on this page are labeled

Verified means read off the vendor's own pricing page or help center. Derived means worked out from verified figures, such as an allowance multiplied out, a proration, a price step between two printed stops, or a list placed on a Brevo email stop by its campaign count. Not published is the label for anything the vendor has not stated.

The page shows 171 value cells: 116 verified, 47 derived, 0 estimate and 8 not published.

VerifiedRead off each vendor's own pages, linked in its section on 25 September 2026.

The methodology page sets out what each label means.

Related